Tags

, , ,

It’s amazing to think that something that started as insignificant as a small “thumbnail” drawing in my sketchbook, has turned into a painting currently hanging at the Oil Painters of American National Juried Exhibition at the Southwest Art Gallery in Dallas Texas. The exhibit and convention were really exciting and fun. It was an honor to be juried into the show (translation: “I didn’t win an award.”) BUT nonetheless – I am already planning for next year!

In previous posts I detailed the application and approval process; varnishing, framing and shipping and this post will highlight just some of the many exhibition/convention activities I attended. Thanks OPA, Southwest Gallery, the great state of Texas and thanks to you for “hanging” with me while sharing the anatomy of an art competition.

Me and my painting "New Shoes" at the Southwest Gallery's opening night.

Me and my painting “New Shoes” at the Southwest Gallery’s opening night.

A demonstration by OPA Master Qiang Huang.

OPA Convention demonstration by OPA Master Qiang Huang.

"New Shoes" in the exhibition catalog.

“New Shoes” in the 2016 OPA National Juried Exhibition catalog.

Kevin Macpherson OPAM, taking a break during his demonstration.

Exhibit Judge Kevin Macpherson OPAM, taking a break during his demonstration.

The exhibit judge, Kevin Macpherson OPAM cleaning his palette after a demonstration.

Exhibit judge, Kevin Macpherson OPAM cleaning his palette after a demonstration.

 

 

