Tags

, , , , , ,

“Resistance is always lying and always full of shit.”

That’s my favorite quote from Steven Pressfield’s book The War of Art. I have it on Kindle and it’s the first highlighted bookmark. My second highlight is, “Rule of thumb: The more important a call or action is to our soul’s evolution, the more Resistance we will feel toward pursuing it.” To quote Charlie Brown, “Rats.”

When working on submissions to juried shows or competitions, artists have to  sometimes plan almost a year in advance. For about a month I’ve been working  on designs for one of these competitions. I have a safe design and a creative design. I picked the creative design because what’s the fun in being safe? I finished my proposal and was creating a timeline, working backwards from their deadline, when it suddenly hit me – Resistance.

I spent a few minutes talking myself out of submitting a proposal. Resistance had good points: 1.) “They won’t like your creative design” and 2. “If they do you’ll never get it done on deadline.” Well played Resistance – well played. But, I’ve ignored you many times Resistance, and each time it was important to my artistic “soul’s evolution”. I learned that even when I fail I win. How’s that? I fix flat tires really good by having lots flat tires.

My third highlight in the book reads, “Resistance has not strength of its own. Every ounce of juice it possesses comes from us. We feed it with power by our fear of it. Master that fear and we conquer Resistance.” Sure, being rejected still stings, but like I said, even when I fail I win because I overcame Resistance and kept moving forward. “It ain’t about how hard your hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving’ forward.” – Rocky

Do you have a creative “call to action” that you are resisting? Make’em say no.

Michael

 

